Ippudo

Photo from newyork.seriouseats.com

As a pretty big fan of the low key, Ramen bar scene, I was initially skeptical of Ippudo’s fancy façade and long waits, despite Renee insisting it was worth it. Though it’s definitely not for a casual ramen night, I have to agree, it was worth it. I had the Won Ton Ramen – the soup itself was a little plain but the won tons were really tasty. Chris had the Classic Ramen and though it was gone too fast for me to try, he claims mine tasted like ‘canned chicken noodle soup’ compared to his. I’m assuming that means it was amazing.

There are a couple of disadvantages, for example, all of the chefs yell something to you in Japanese upon entering the restaurant, and there’s an hour and half wait on even a week night. Also, the prices are a little bit higher than normal ramen and you can easily drop a lot of money there on all of the tiny but scrumptious appetizers.

65 4th Ave, between 9th and 10th streets

4 thoughts on “Ippudo

  1. Wow, this photo makes me really want some ramen. But clearly I won’t order the Won Ton Ramen–not when it tastes like chicken soup compared to the Classic.

    But seriously, I really hate when Japanese guys yell things at me when I go into a restaurant.

    • I really love Rai Rai Ken, it’s also my favorite. I tried Momofuku a little while ago and wasn’t that impressed with their Ramen – it was really salty. I don’t think it’s worth the hype.

Leave a comment